The recipient of a 2017 George London Foundation Award, tenor Aaron Blake has earned international recognition for the role of Timothy Laughlin in Gregory Spears’ Fellow Travelers. Mr. Blake recently made a critically acclaimed debut with the New York City Opera in Peter Eötvös’ operatic adaptation of Angels in America.

He has performed leading roles with Cincinnati Opera as Don Ottavio in Don Giovanni, Pan in La Calisto, and Tamino in Die Zauberflöte;  Komische Oper Berlin and Minnesota Opera as Tamino in Die Zauberflöte; Utah Opera where he will return this season as Rinuccio in Gianni Schicchi; Tulsa Opera as Nadir in  Les Pecheurs de Perles, where this season he joins the company as a guest on their 70th Anniversary Gala; The Dallas Opera as Romeo in Romeo et Juliette; Opera Orchestra of New York as Ugo in Donizetti’s Parisina d’Este; Washington National Opera in  Anna Bolena; and the Metropolitan Opera where he debuted opposite Plácido Domingo in  La Traviata.

Mr. Blake returned this season to the Metropolitan Opera for Les contes d’Hoffmann and The Merry Widow.  He performed Tamino with the Komische Oper Berlin on tour in Tokyo, Hiroshima and Osaka. He returned to the Utah Opera for Rinuccio in Gianni Schicchi and made debuts with the American Symphony Orchestra singing Fleishman’s  Rothschild’s Violin at Carnegie Hall, and as Candide with the Atlanta Symphony-Alliance Theater in a production celebrating the Leonard Bernstein centennial.  

In the  2018/19 season the tenor will return to the Metropolitan Opera for The Dialogues of the Carmelites, make his role debut as Count Almaviva in The Barber of Seville with the Tulsa Opera and reprise  Tamino with The Komische Oper Berlin on tour in Australia, and New Zealand.  He will make his Lincoln Center Festival debut as Tamino in July of 2019.

Mr. Blake’s portrayal of Timothy Laughlin can be heard on the commercial recording of Fellow Travelers, released this season on the Fanfare Label, and named by the New Yorker Magazine as one of the top 10 recordings of 2017.